Skip to content

Anti-Choice March Madness

March 25, 2013

It’s almost April, and you know what that means: March Madness! As the best NCAA basketball teams duke it out in the tournament, there’s another battle going on nationwide. Cecile Richards calls it “the state-by-state race to the bottom on women’s health.”

I love this piece at Mother Jones: Anti-Choice March Madness: The Worst State for Women

 

anti-women-madness_champ2013

 

State by state, let’s have a look at the news (this is just from the weekend!):

 

I’m happy and not surprised that New York doesn’t make the cut for the “Mean Sixteen” (although shoutout to my alma mater, Syracuse, for making the Sweet Sixteen this weekend!). New York, thankfully, doesn’t have the abortion restrictions that many other states have, like mandatory waiting periods or ultrasounds.

Despite my shameless plug for my University, I’m not invested in the NCAA tournament this year. While my friends are tweeting about the big games, I find myself reading about reproductive rights and bodily autonomy. Last week, I wasn’t alone – even some of my sports-obsessed Syracuse friends were tweeting about the Steubenville rape case. The connections between sports and women’s rights aren’t that hard to make.

It doesn’t seem fair that your access to rights in this country depends on your ZIP code. We might have it pretty good here in New York, but women across this country are seeing their rights rolled back before their eyes. And in the anti-choice March Madness bracket, no matter who wins, women lose.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

