Skip to content

Come make change with us in Albany!

December 19, 2012

This will be my fourth year in a row accompanying Planned Parenthood Hudson Peconic to Family Planning Advocates’ Annual Day of Action. For the past three years, my mom and I have made a tradition out of waking up early and taking the bus up to Albany to talk to lawmakers. This year we’re going again, but with one major difference: this year, I’m one of the folks planning it.

I’ve had some incredible experiences as a volunteer at the Day of Action:

  • I had the pleasure of meeting Rep. Dean Murray, a freshman congressmember who was the very first Tea Party member elected nationwide. We didn’t know much about him, and we were not optimistic. Regardless of his anti-women’s health voting record that we now have on file, our meeting went really well. When I told him how more than 90% of what we do nationally is preventive care, he was truly shocked – he had no idea that people turn to Planned Parenthood for a variety of services. It was really moving to sit down and talk to an actual lawmaker and teach him something. (Murray was ousted this year by Edward Hennessey, a Democrat who we know very little about. Maybe you could have the same experience as me, and teach him something in Albany!)
  • I got to chat with pro-choice champion Senator Suzi Oppenheimer and her chief of staff, Steve Otis, who just won his election to succeed Assemblyman George Latimer (who is replacing Suzi!). Maybe this year you can chat with Otis, and make sure that he’s on the same path as Suzi.
  • Last year, I shook hands with US Senator Chuck Schumer in the assembly chamber! My mom and I somehow ended up there after getting lost, and assemblywoman Ellen Jaffee invited us into the chamber to check it out. I definitely recommend seeing the ornate gallery (although I can’t promise that Senator Schumer will be there to shake your hand this year).

For three years I’ve attended The Day of Action as a volunteer – this is the first time that I’ll be attending as staff. I like to think I have a pretty good idea of what to expect – an amazing day full of meaningful conversations with people who have an impact on my life. I’m sure there will be more stress, but I’m also assuming it will come with more gratification, too.

I’d love for you to join us this year at the Day of Action. This year, we are committed to it being our biggest year yet. We need YOU to sign up and come to Albany with PPHP on January 14th. And if you’ve already signed up, leave a comment to let us know what is motivating you to attend!

PPHP President and CEO Reina Schiffrin, Assemblywoman Ellen Jaffee, US Senator Chuck Schumer, me, and my mom!

PPHP President and CEO Reina Schiffrin, Assemblywoman Ellen Jaffee, US Senator Chuck Schumer, me, and my mom!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 20, 2012 5:09 pm

    Sammy, I LOVE this picture! My favorite thing about the Day of Action is seeing how many New Yorkers from all across the state care enough to travel to Albany to talk about women’s health. I think seeing the crowd fill the Well is my favorite thing.

Leave a Reply

