Skip to content

National Coming Out Day

October 12, 2010

Yesterday was National Coming Out Day, and I’m coming out as an ally because LGBTQ youth across the globe are important to me. According to the Human Rights Campaign, 90% of LGBTQ youth experience harassment in school, and only 5 states plus the District of Columbia acknowledge that love, not gender, is what matters in a marriage.

I’m coming out as an ally because I refuse to let public officials and candidates stand on platforms of homophobia and discrimination.  We need to stand up to candidates like Carl Paladino, and let them know we will not be complacent when they exhibit behavior and make statements that are derogatory and hateful.

I‘m coming out as an ally because with every news story I hear about another life lost, or crime committed against a member of the LGBTQ community my heart breaks.  I want them to know that they are not alone, and that I care.  I may not understand your pain, but I will fight beside you for equality, because no one should live in a society where their government tells them how they can or cannot live their lives, and who they can or cannot marry.

I’m coming out as an ally because I cannot stand idly by as my friends and family are refused basic human rights based solely on their gender and sexuality.

I hope that you’ll join me in coming out this week, and if you’d like more information please visit the Human Rights Campaign website.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

