Skip to content

Apply Pressure

July 14, 2010

As my blogger profile says, “there is no doubt about it, I was born a feminist.” You could also say I was born an activist.  I had my first subscription to Ms  magazine in the 1970’s– before I turned 16.  Around the same time, my small-town teenage feminist self became acquainted with the American Civil Liberties Union.  I can’t remember the case that raised my awareness, but I am nearly 100% certain that it involved a first amendment issue. 

Reproductive rights, domestic violence, sexual assault, equal pay, my “right” to write what I wanted as editor of the high school paper (actually, I was wrong about this one), I’ve always been one to take action – to apply pressure where it’s needed to make change.

I posted Going to Extremes to express my outrage at the excommunication of Sister Margaret Mary McBride and suggest that we’ve got to do something to make sure that catholic hospitals provide all necessary life saving care for pregnant women, including abortion. 

The ACLU is doing something. Earlier this month, in a post on their reader diary at RH Reality Check, the ACLU announced that they “asked the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services to ensure that religiously-affiliated hospitals provide emergency reproductive care as required by federal law”. Today they are calling us to action too.    You can go to their website and send a letter to Kathleen Sebelius, Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, asking her to: 

investigate hospitals that refuse to provide emergency abortion care, and issue a bulletin making clear that refusing to provide this care violates federal law.” 

What a great idea.  I did it. I hope you will too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

