Skip to content

Another Reason (Among Many) to Thank Dr. Hern

May 20, 2010

We phone banked this week to help our Planned Parenthood colleagues in Montana who are currently fighting off a “personhood” initiative.  Their goal is to make sure it never makes it to the ballot in November, and we called to educate voters about the dangers of the movement.  When I first heard about the “personhood movement” it took me a few days to fully wrap my head around it.

The thing about “personhood” is that it’s opposed by your mainstream anti-choice groups, and it’s so extreme it makes me physically uncomfortable.  It basically insists that a woman is a second class citizen to her pregnancy by defining the fertilized egg as a person.

If passed, it would not only put an out-right ban on abortion by classifying it has homicide, but would also have drastic implications for hormonal contraceptives (including EC), the treatment of miscarriage, and in-vitro fertilization. The effects are far reaching and devastating for a woman’s bodily autonomy. I don’t tell you not to own guns, or control which church you go to, please don’t tell me what I can and cannot do with my own body. Thanks.

I was struggling a lot with this topic, and was busily doing research when I stumbled across Dr. Warren Hern’s 2007 Op-Ed in the Colorado Statesmen (Colorado faced a “personhood” ballot initiative that same year). While I was reading it a light went off in my head. It clearly should be required reading for anyone who is casting a vote for “personhood.” It totally and completely illustrates the ludicrous nature of this movement. I mean, Dr. Hern has a point; If a woman gets a passport does her fertilized egg need one too? I mean technically it would be a person. And do they get representation in congress too?

If you haven’t read the piece, I suggest that you do, and I also suggest you forward it along to everyone you know. While we’re at it can we work on printing it out and canvassing neighborhoods in Montana with it? Then we can throw a party to thank Dr. Hern not only for the amazing work that he does for women every day, but for his brilliance and clarity in defining “personhood.”

I’ve tried to make light of this movement, but there’s still a lot of work that needs to be done in Montana, and across the county to defeat “personhood.” Let us know if you’d like to help out, any time that you can donate is greatly appreciated. I don’t think voters can ever be educated enough when it comes to initiatives like this one.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Scott Evans permalink
    May 21, 2010 2:42 am

    “It basically insists that a woman is a second class citizen to her pregnancy by defining the fertilized egg as a person.”

    Uh, here’s a biology lesson for ya’. There’s no such thing as a human fertilized egg, unless, of course, you’re a fertilized egg.

Leave a Reply

