Skip to content

Power

April 7, 2010

Power.  In the work I do every day, it’s everything.  It’s the personal and the political.

Our mission at PPHP is “to empower individuals to determine their own sexual health and reproductive futures.”  For me, and other reproductive rights supporters, taking control of your sexuality and sexual health, including deciding for yourself when, whether, and if or how many children you will have is a “no-brainer.”  It’s the personal power that I want for myself (and others).  It’s what I expect.  Actually it’s what I demand.  For me, empowerment and trust go hand in hand.   To empower women, we need to trust them to make the decisions that are best for themselves and their families.  That’s why I work at Planned Parenthood.  Trusting women is a core value here. 

Of course, not everyone believes that women can be trusted to make their own private, personal reproductive health care decisions.  That’s where my work day moves from personal empowerment to political power.  I want to know that those who are in power – from the White House to the Mayor’s office trust women.  And, that they care about access to reproductive health services.  That’s another reason I work at Planed Parenthood.  Because spending your days energizing activists, working to elect pro-choice leaders at all levels of government, and advocating for public policies that support access to reproductive health care and protect reproductive freedom is meaningful work.  It makes a difference for me, for my friends, and for our children.

I believe in the power of the voices in this movement.  That’s why I decided to join the growing universe of reproductive health and rights bloggers. I am part of a team that has plenty to say about sex, sexual health, reproductive justice, and the politics that affect the personal right to make our own reproductive choices.  I hope you’ll join our conversation.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Ellen Jones permalink
    April 10, 2010 1:21 am

    Lisa – Best of luck with this new endeavor! It’s brilliant and will provide an educational foundation for many people!

Leave a Reply

